«哲学系

比尔·马洪尼

William K. Mahony博士, 是戴维森学院(Davidson College)的查尔斯·达纳(Charles A. Dana)宗教教授,他在那里教授有关印度宗教的课程,特别是与这些传统相关的沉思和虔诚的敏感性和实践。 比尔获得了许多教学奖和研究金,经常去印度旅行,并在沉思的环境中生活了很长一段时间。

Bill与瑜伽界开展国际合作,在领先的讲习班和务虚会上致力于精神生活的培养和完善。 他以他热情,活泼和富有同情心的教学风格而闻名,所有级别的当代瑜伽学生都可以使用他的教学风格。

在这些讲习班和务虚会中,比尔将他从印度敏锐而明智的学术研究中获得的印度哲学知识与他在过去四十年的瑜伽实践中积累的见识相结合。 他与参与者分享他本人的经验,以丰富自己的经验并改变所学文本中的智慧,并以能够有效地将这些观点应用到自己生活中的方式指导参与者。 Bill的教学风格以持续的小组讨论为导向,并包括冥想阶段。

比尔最近的书, 精致的爱:基于纳拉达的《巴克提·苏特拉》的精神生活反思基于十世纪和十一世纪的梵文文本,是基于对我们当代生活中越来越高水平的属灵之爱的体验,培养和完善。 第二版由Sarvabhāva出版社出版。 有关更多信息,请访问 书籍页面 or 在亚马逊上订购第二版.

他的其他出版物包括 狡猾的宇宙:吠陀宗教想象力入门, 纽约州立大学出版社出版,这是对印度一些基本宗教情感神圣的有远见和沉思的直觉。 有关更多信息,请访问 书籍页面or 在亚马逊上订购这本书.

Bill获得了威廉姆斯学院,耶鲁大学和芝加哥大学的学位,并担任第一版16卷的编辑和主要撰稿人 宗教百科全书。 在他编辑过的书籍的许多文章和章节中,一个有代表性的标题是他的《在开始的爱进入那个:从吠陀印度教思想的角度看神的爱》。 神的爱:世界宗教传统的视角,由Templeton Press出版。

« Philosophy Faculty

Bill Mahony

William K. Mahony, PhD, is the Charles A. Dana Professor of Religion at Davidson College, where he teaches courses on the religions of India, centering particularly on the contemplative and devotional sensibilities and practices associated with those traditions. The recipient of a number of teaching awards and research fellowships, Bill travels to India frequently and has lived in contemplative settings for extended periods of time.

Bill works internationally with the yoga community in leading workshops and retreats on the cultivation and refinement of the spiritual life. He is known for his warm, lively and compassionate teaching style that is accessible to contemporary yoga students at all levels.

In these workshops and retreats, Bill integrates his knowledge of Indian philosophy gained through his discerning and informed scholarly study with insights refined through over four decades of his own yogic practice.  He shares with participants what he himself experiences to be expansive and transforming wisdom held in texts he studies, and he guides participants in ways they can fruitfully apply these perspectives in their own lives. Bill’s teaching style is oriented toward sustained group discussion and includes periods of meditation.

Bill’s most recent book, Exquisite Love: Reflections on the Spiritual Life based on Nārada’s Bhakti Sūtra, based on a Sanskrit text from the tenth and eleventh centuries, is on the experience, cultivation and refinement of increasingly higher levels of spiritual love in our contemporary lives. The second edition is published by Sarvabhāva Press. For more information, visit the books page or order the second edition on Amazon.

His other publications include The Artful Universe: An Introduction to the Vedic Religious Imagination, published by the State University of New York Press, which is on visionary and contemplative intuitions into the sacred in some of India’s foundational religious sensibilities. For more information, visit the books pageor order the book on Amazon.

Earning academic degrees from Williams College, Yale University and the University of Chicago, Bill served as one of the editors and a major contributor to the first edition of the 16-volume Encyclopedia of Religion. Among his many articles and chapters in edited books, a representative title would be his “In the Beginning Love Entered that One: Divine Love from a Perspective Informed by Vedic Hindu Thought” in Divine Love: Perspectives from the World’s Religious Traditions, published by Templeton Press.