捐献

解剖学,生物力学,运动机能学在瑜伽教学和实践过程中如何以及为何起作用

亚当·巴伦格(Adam Ballenger)

经验丰富的认证Anusara®瑜伽老师

https://adamballengeryoga.com

 

 

这是我旅行和教学时收到的很多问题。 考虑到我倾向于会遇见许多已经对了解身体以及我们如何运动或良好运动感兴趣的人,所以我经常会遇到需要参加某种面向身体的课程的学生。 我不喜欢研究身体,这不是我的练习的一部分,要记住的东西太多了,最大的问题是,这对我来说是太多的思考,它会导致一个忙碌的头脑并使我脱离身体。

数十年来,聆听这些评论一直鼓励着我发展有关同一主题的其他对话。 有一个共同的想法,那就是了解身体的解剖结构将有助于练习,甚至可以帮助一个人治愈身体上的伤害,我对此表示赞同。 或者,研究生物力学将有助于对齐,我再一次同意。 最有可能的是,如果您上过关于解剖学和生物力学的瑜伽课程,那么它就与某种形式的对齐练习联系在一起,这可能有助于学生了解更多,但知道身体各部位的名称(解剖学),或者身体部位的典型和常见运动(生物力学)本身类似于了解方向盘或车把的名称,或者了解它们可以转动并影响前轮胎指向的方向,并相信这将使您成为一名优秀的驾驶员。 同样,知道汽车轮胎可以调高30度也无助于驾驶员在拐角处或在多风的道路上行驶。 如何利用运动科学,解剖学和生物力学使自己更健康,这本身就是一个完整的独特主题,其中包含需要针对个人量身定制的一般信息和实践。

在瑜伽训练中学习身体的新对话。

如果做得好,与研究人体会有完全不同的益处(不同于治疗或健身)。 如果您是一位瑜伽老师,您可能已经注意到学生对自己的身体缺乏了解。 解剖学提供部分的名称和描述,这可能只会使学生到目前为止发展他们的熟悉感,但是它提供了地标的标题,街道的名称或澄清的符号,该术语等于该部分。 当您在那儿感觉到某些东西时,您现在有了一个个人化的内在概念,而不是模棱两可的“那儿,那附近”。 如果您曾经去过医生那里并告诉他们您认为不适的确切位置,那将为您带来缓解,并为医生提供一个清晰简洁的里程碑,让他们从工作开始,而不是进行猜谜游戏和探索性评估。 解剖学术语可以帮助人体个性化,但即使是不必要的。 准确的上下文可以更清楚地了解一些背景信息,这可以使个人对自己一生所经历的身体某些部分感到更加舒适。

要求学生写下结构的名称,连接的对象以及工作方式是正常的,这是正常的工作。 但以我的经验来看,让一个小组写下一些与,骨(膝盖骨)或肩s骨(肩blade骨)有关的个人,故事或经历,同时也与技术信息联系在一起,对于学习过程来说可能会更有效。 。  很多时候,一个人的身体体验就像一个巨大的情感灯塔,  超越身体本质的情感成分,是个体的生理方面。  同样,我们也可能只是作为生存机制而保留了身体受伤或患病的历史。  随着年龄的增长,我们变得有可能失去那种美丽的身体自我感,而与其他时间相比,这种感觉被新的压倒了,而其他时候该身体自我显得更加活跃或光滑。  这些就是我喜欢的时刻,当简单地介绍身体的一部分时,就是故事,它令人印象深刻,重新激发了人们对自己的好奇心和兴趣。

你有无法固定的膝盖吗? 您想让自己的脚感觉好些吗?  您是否知道大脚趾可能是身体最强大的部位之一,并有助于防止跌倒?  您是否知道双腿的后背与脖子的后背相连,伸展它们可能有助于减轻脖子僵硬的感觉?  您是否知道婴儿学习侧翻对于他们学习如何走路至关重要,而成年人也可能会从中受益(这与神经系统有很大关系)?  作为老师,我们可以通过教育和一点指导经验重新激发我们的自我魅力吗?

在学习过程中可能会有一些忙碌的想法,这是我们要面对的挑战,要使忙碌的想法值得。  而且,一旦有人在学习过程中忙碌的大脑部分中移动,更深的自我知识和自我意识会导致更深层次的流动状态。  如果您可以考虑使用有关身体各个部位的信息,它们如何工作,如何整合和改善功能,那么这些新知识的价值将远远超过了解这些部位的名称。  同时,我们可以帮助人们克服不熟悉的事物。  作为人类,我们寻求熟悉的舒适。  作为瑜伽老师,我们可以帮助发展这种熟悉度,从而使我们的身体更加舒适。  

学习人体科学确实可以帮助一个人理解运动和对齐方式,并支持康复疗法。  同样,与我们自己的身体形态的更发达的关系也可能带来其他机会和其他康复领域。  

标签: , , , , ,

Login

How and why Anatomy, Biomechanics, Kinesiology helps in the process of teaching and practicing yoga

By Adam Ballenger

Experienced Certified Anusara® Yoga Teacher

https://adamballengeryoga.com

 

 

This is a question I receive a lot when I travel and teach. Granted I tend to meet a lot of people who are already interested in learning about the body and about how we move or move well, I regularly come across students who are required to take some sort of body-oriented course. I don’t like studying the body, it’s not part of my practice, there’s too much to memorize, and the biggest one, this is too much thinking for me, it creates a busy mind and takes me out of my body.

Listening to these comments for decades has encouraged me to develop other conversations on the same topics. There’s a common idea that learning about the anatomy of the body will help a practice, even help a person heal their physical injuries, and I couldn’t disagree more with this notion. Or that studying biomechanics will help with alignment and again, I couldn’t disagree more. Most likely, if you’ve taken a yoga course on anatomy and biomechanics it was tied into some form of alignment practice, and that may have helped a student understand more, but knowing the names of the parts of the body (anatomy), or typical and common movements of body parts (biomechanics), in themselves is similar to knowing the name of the steering wheel or handlebars or learning that they can turn and affect the direction the front tires point and believing this will make you a good driver. As well, knowing that a car tire can be turned up to 30 degrees doesn’t help a driver navigate around a corner or down a windy road. How to use movement science, anatomy, and biomechanics to move more healthy is a whole unique topic in itself that has general information and practices that need to be tailored to the individual.

A new conversation for studying the body in yoga training.

When done well, there is an entirely different benefit (than therapeutics or fitness) from studying the human body. If you’re a yoga teacher, you may have noticed a lack of familiarity students may have with their bodies. Anatomy provides names & descriptions of parts that may only bring a student so far in developing their sense of familiarity yet, it provides a title to a landmark, a name to a street, or a clarifying symbol, this term equals that part. When you feel something there, you now have a personal and internalized concept of where that was rather than an ambiguous “over there, near that thing”. If you’ve ever had the experience of going to a doctor and telling them exactly where you believe the discomfort is, it’s relieving and offers the doctor a clear and concise landmark to begin working from rather than progressing through a guessing game and exploratory assessment. Anatomical terms can help personalize the body, but even those aren’t necessary. An accurate context more clearly understands of some background information can do wonders for helping an individual feel just a little more comfortable with some part of their body they’ve been living with their entire life.

It’s normal in course work to ask students to write down the names of structures, what they connect to, how they might work. In my experience though, it can be even more effective for a learning process to ask a group to write down something personal, some story or experience that’s connected to a patella (knee cap) or scapula (shoulder blade) while connecting technical information as well.  All too often, an individual’s experience of the body is as a giant emotional beacon,  an emotional component overriding the body’s nature as a physical aspect of individuality.  As well, we may also hold close a history of physical injury or malady, simply as a survival mechanism.  As we age, we become more likely to lose that beautiful sense of physical self, newly overridden with comparison to some other time when this physical self appeared more vibrant or smooth.  These are the moments I love, when a simple introduction to a part of the body, it’s the story, how impressive it is, re-ignites an individual’s curiosity and interest in themselves.

Have you got an unfix-able knee? Would you like some feet you can feel better about?  Did you know a big toe can be one of the most powerful parts of your body and help prevent you from falling?  Did you know that the back of your legs are connected to the back of your neck and stretching them may help reduce the feeling of a stiff neck?  Did you know that infants learning to rollover is vital to them learning how to walk, and adults might benefit from practicing this too (has a lot to do with the nervous system)?  Can we as teachers rekindle an intrigue in our self, through education and a little guided experience?

There may be some busy mind in the learning process, that’s our challenge, to make that busy mind worth it.  And, once someone moves through the busy mind part of the learning process, deeper self-knowledge and self-awareness can lead to deeper states of flow.  If you can think of using the information about the parts of the body, how they work, how they can integrate and improve function, then the value of that new knowledge can far exceed knowing the names of the parts.  At the same time, we can help people overcome avoiding what’s unfamiliar.  As humans, we seek the comfort of familiarity.  As yoga teachers, we can help develop that familiarity so we may find even more comfort in our bodies.  

Studying the body sciences can indeed help a person understand movement and alignment, and support a healing practice.  As well, there are other opportunities and other areas of healing that can come from a more developed relationship with our very own physical form.  

Tags: , , , , ,