捐献

宁静– Upeksa与神结盟的实践

比尔·多里根(Bill Dorigan)

学科专家

http://www.findingthemidline.com

 

 

本文探讨了宁静的含义和实践,这是帕坦加利的《瑜伽经1.33》中“ upeksa”一词的常见翻译。 这项探索的目的是帮助瑜伽老师和从业者更有效地与神结合,体验更丰富的生活,并使社会更加受益。 

练习Anusara瑜伽的最高目的是要与神保持一致。 这意味着什么? 萨利·肯普顿(Sally Kempton)提供了一个非常有用的解释,以这种方式定义了神:“最终的现实是一种伟大的神性意识,具有两个不可分割的方面,分别被称为湿婆神和夏克提。” 她将湿婆描述为“最终的神智”和“至高无上的意识”,而沙克蒂则描述为“内在的创造力”,通过她的“神的创造力”展现了整个物质世界,包括我们每个人。 

肯普顿女士在谈到克什米尔谢伊维特哲学体系时,解释了这种激进的非二元性的希瓦体系是如何“在地球上以及在所有经验领域中……在每一个实质性和非实质性事物中”认识这种至高意识的。 沙伊维教徒不仅在舞蹈,艺术,音乐和戏剧等感官愉悦中寻找神圣的事物,而且在愤怒,恐惧和沮丧的“有缺陷的人性”以及所有“较黑暗的”行为中寻找神灵情绪。” 提到谢玛拉雅(Kshemaraja)的XNUMX世纪著作, 帕提亚比纳·赫里达扬 (认可之心),肯普顿女士强调说,我们每个人也在我们有限的个人身体中表达着至高无上的意识。 我们每个人都幻想着与最高意识分离,因此彼此分离。 以人类的形式,我们已经忘记了作为神的本性。 我们忘记了每个人都拥有同样真实本质的想法。 

因此,要与神保持一致,就需要记住这种统一的思想。 这就要求我们养成一种习惯,无论是在自己身上还是在别人面前,无论是在自己身上还是在别人面前,都首先要寻找神圣的存在。 包括种族主义,性别歧视,违反法律,说谎,作弊甚至我们发现令人讨厌的政治理想在内的不良态度和行为都是至尊意识的体现。 至高无上的神灵,通过人类的全方位体验生活在世界上,这些快乐,悲伤,愤怒和爱心,卑鄙与善良,阴影与光明。

要充分体验神的经验,就需要我们尽可能多地学习人类的全部经验。 在适合我们的特定情况时,我们可以通过与他人(特别是那些与我们不舒服的人)交往来学习。 正如我在下面讨论的那样,每次这样的相遇都使我们有机会重新审视自己的思维方式和行为方式以及我们自己的阴影。 也许我们会学到一些东西。 正如布伦达·弗伊尔斯坦(Brenda Feuerstein)所写:“经常从与我们自己的观点形成鲜明对比的事物中学到最多的东西。” 为了最大限度地提高与神的联盟能力,我们必须学会与世界进行广泛接触。   

学会以这种方式看待世界,以期扩大参与,这需要我们许多人的态度发生重大变化。 瑜伽教我们如何完成这一转变。 正如我在2020年XNUMX月所强调的 萨穆德拉(Samudra Shakti) 在线演示是帕坦伽利的八臂瑜伽路径ahimsa(Yoga Sutra II.35)的核心练习,它所涉及的不仅仅是避免伤害他人,这是我们在课堂上听到的最常见的定义。 这意味着爱。 Ahimsa要求我们学会拥抱“所有创造,因为我们都是…的孩子。 主。” 评论员Vyasa写道:“其他yamas的目标是实现ahimsa并对其进行增强。” 因此,这经经所希望的爱,乃至帕坦伽利瑜伽的整个八肢路径,都意味着是广阔的,不断扩展的。 艾扬格(Eyengar)先生阐述道,修行阿弥陀佛时,一位瑜伽士“知道他的生活与他人的生活密不可分,他为能够帮助他们幸福而感到高兴,”向那些通过“他的爱与同情委屈他的人展示了如何提高自己。”

这是非常关键的一点。 练习瑜伽,遵循我们真实本性的旅程(瑜伽经I.3),与神性相一致,需要学习如何扩大我们的能力去爱每个人,而不仅仅是那些长得像我们的人和喜欢我们的人。 这是我们必须努力实现的态度转变。 埃德温·布莱恩特(Edwin Bryant)博士建议,一个人的瑜伽修养将受到限制,直到他或她将ahimsa以及其他yamas内部化并“付诸实践”。 如果我们希望最大限度地利用与神的联系的机会,当然可以。 直到我们学会从爱的态度去看待每个人,无论他们的“失误”如何,我们都会经历内心的动荡,使我们看不到另一个人,一个冒犯我们的人,也是生活,呼吸最高意识的体现。 充满爱心的态度消除了导致我们失明和无知,无法认识共同的神性的精神,判断性chat不休。 充满爱心的态度创造了一种环境,从中可以更轻松地体验神的生活。 

要求我们去爱别人,包括可能对我们造成巨大伤害的人,甚至可能继续这样做,似乎有些困难,不是吗? 只是问甘地。 充满爱心地看待每个人似乎有点“ kumbaya”,这是一个经常贬低的术语,用于使对手达到某种和谐的外观。 但这实际上就是瑜伽要我们去做的事情。 为了使维持爱心的承诺更加合理,我们可以像某些现代行为心理学家对“爱”的看法一样来思考“爱”。 他们不使用“爱”这个词,因为我们通常会考虑浪漫的依恋,或者我们非常关心的与家人甚至宠物的温暖情感。 相反,他们认为爱是两个人,甚至是陌生人之间积极联系的时刻。 正是这种内心的联系,尽管短暂,却使我们能够品尝和体验另一个人的神圣。 正是这种联系的时刻,可以使我们转向他们,并短暂地消除隐藏在我们共同的神圣联系中的情感障碍。 (出于多种原因,有时候最健康,最安全的选择是转身而不是转向)。 

Barbara Fredrickson博士提到这些时刻的“积极共鸣”的例子包括离婚的配偶在孩子的婚礼上发现了短暂但重要的共同心脏联系,或当孩子毕业时共享的骄傲时刻。 当经历令人印象深刻的事件时,这种爱包括陌生人之间相互敬畏的感觉。 当我们在政治选举中取得一定成果时,我们就拥有一个共同的希望。 它指的是体育场内成千上万的陌生人在自发共享的喜悦中,看着他们的主队在最后一刻取得胜利。 举例来说,其他的情感,例如感激,安宁,好奇,幽默和启发,可能导致积极的共鸣和爱的经历。 

Patanjali理解了人类倾向于让我们的思想建构使我们对遵循我们自己真实本性的最终目标视而不见的趋势,包括那些我们面对那些其价值观和行为冒犯我们的情况的人。 结果,他与我们分享了《瑜伽经1.33》中现有的佛教习俗。 该经文提出:“通过培养对快乐者的友善态度,对遇难者的同情心,对贤惠者的喜悦,对非贤惠者的安宁,头脑中就会产生清醒感。” 平等(upeksa)是一种实践,它教会我们如何更广泛地看待与我们在价值观和行为上不同意的其他人。 

宁静是什么意思? 一些评论将单词翻译为“无差异”。 也许由于这个原因,我有时听到老师和学生建议使用upeksa这个词意味着我们只是摒弃了那些不同意我们的人。 有人告诉我们“要保持脾气,但要保持冷静”,“只要转过身走开; 别理他们。” 这样的建议可能与我们的人性相吻合,这是我们中不愿为转向冒犯我们的人而努力的部分。 从表面上看,这似乎仍然是适当的反应,以保持我们镇定,“瑜伽”的思想,我们感知到的内心平静。 

但是,远离这样的人会阻止我们寻求的神圣连接。 背弃我们或无视某人与阿希姆萨(Ahimsa)和增进爱的瑜伽责任是矛盾的。  脱离或忽略他们如何帮助我们在那个人中找到神圣的烙印? 正如布伦达·弗伊尔斯坦(Brenda Feuerstein)所指出的,如果我们不与那个人交往,我们如何从那个人的截然不同的世界观中学习并改变自己? 而且,就促进我们社会的福祉而言,转身如何帮助他们将我们的价值观和行为视为他们参与世界活动的更有益的方式? 至高无上的意识生活在这样的人中,对我们隐瞒,只有与他们互动才能显示出来,而不能转身离开。 

幸运的是,学者和有关《瑜伽经》的各种评论都提出了一种相反的方法,这种方法将upeksa解释为对“非虚无”的思想和移情交往的练习。 道格拉斯·布鲁克斯(Douglas Brooks)博士最近在美国政治分歧的背景下讨论了这一点。他将安宁描述为一种正念和善解人意的参与,建议我们练习“转向”他人(萨玛塔)他称之为“订婚的安定”。 H提出我们对那些与我们坚决不同意的人的回应是“有针对性的”。 他敦促我们永远不要脱离接触,而是“以适合可​​行成果的方式来表达我们的感觉,思想和行动。” 他警告说,当我们背弃自己的思想和感觉时,我们“就会失去宁静”。 这种脱离接触使我们失去了反思的机会,然后将其转化为“建设性行动”。 

考虑一下乔治·福伊斯坦博士(Georg Feuerstein博士)的评论,在他的评论中,他像布鲁克斯博士一样,敦促我们不同意的人认真而富有同情心地参与其中: 

upeksa一词需要简要说明。 它不代表IK Taimni和许多其他译者所具有的“冷漠”,而是象征着一种更为微妙和积极的态度,即对任务授权事件的热情洋溢的见证。 

在随后的评论中,他以非二元论的观点对瑜伽经进行了评论,费尔因斯坦博士称镇定是“安静的接受”,它“肯定了众生的统一性”。 

这种同情和内省的参与与其他评论者对瑜伽经的观点一致。 例如,艾扬格(Iyengar)先生在翻译upeksa一词时表示冷漠或冷漠, 轻瑜伽 upeksa是:

[A]进行自我检查,以找出面对同样的诱惑时的表现。 这也是一种检查,看一个人对不幸的人陷入的状态负有多大的责任,然后试图将他置于正确的道路上。 信奉瑜伽者首先要亲自观察和研究他人的缺点。 这项自学使他学会了对所有人的慈善。 

像博士Brooks和Feuerstein,Iyengar先生要求我们尝试将自己放在另一个人的鞋子上,然后根据我们自己的自我学习和Dr.Dr.努力努力(尝试“使他走上正确的道路”)。乔治·费尔斯坦(Georg Feuerstein)的“善解人意的见证”。 

艾扬格先生在他对佛经本身的评论中详细阐述了这些观点,并指出,以同理心的订婚方式进行的镇定与自我学习相结合,会产生一种“精神调节”,从而有益于“整个社会的福祉”。 ” 埃德温·布莱恩特(Edwin Bryant)博士表示同意,并指出upeksa(以及该经书中确定的其他三种态度-友谊,同情心和喜悦)“规定了席位上的一种正念或精神修养。” 布莱恩特博士写道,实践这些态度,包括消除对与我们意见分歧的人的不容忍,“完全符合世界上积极而仁慈的社会行为。” 

善解人意地将upeksa当作具有自我意识的移交活动,如何在世界范围内增进幸福感?  贾加纳斯·卡雷拉(Jaganath Carrera)牧师在他对《瑜伽经》 1.33的评论中写道,实现观点转变的另一种理想动机在于“充满宁静感”,充满同情心,理解力和创造和谐的愿望。 

另一位评论员Rohit Mehta扩大了放宽他人的价值,即使该人的举止与我们的价值体系背道而驰。 他写了: 

乌佩克萨 不是冷漠。 对那些可能失败或跌倒的人表示真正的关注和考虑–这就是upeksa的意思。 通常我们会忽略很多失败; 但我们不能忽略甚至其他方面的轻微失败。 使失败的人对我们公司感到轻松自在是很大的精神价值。 

练习upeksa,保持镇静,因为对自我意识的移情交往对于那些参与社会行动运动的人来说是重要的实践。 拉维·拉文德拉(Ravi Ravindra)写道:“练习瑜伽的目的是导致人们对我们所有的周围环境和人际关系越来越敏感,并发展出越来越多的理解和同情心。” 他写道upeksa是: 

“ [M]更接近公正而不是冷漠。 当我们保持公正时,我们不会亲自处理事件,也就是说,我们不仅会考虑自己的兴趣和想法。 越来越公正地看到就是越来越多地考虑到这一点。” 

他建议我们尝试通过了解对方的情况和背景来考虑对方的行为,并意识到他们需要我们的“同情和善意”。 他的结论是,我们经常变得如此忙碌,我们的偏好使我们“看不到别人”是有希望,愿望,恐惧和内心深处的自治者。 简而言之,我们没有想到“他人”和我们一样都是至高无上意识的体现。 

总之,瑜伽要求我们对与我们不同意的人,包括那些言行举止非常令人反感的人,采取态度上的重大转变。 我们需要建立一个内部的心理和情感环境,以有利于与各种形式的神连接或保持一致。 ü直到我们经历 通过破坏“人与人之间的界限”,我们与人的关系发生了“根本性变化”,我们将永远无法充分体验我们的神性。 Miller博士建议,当我们练习upeksa时,“对所有众生-自己,朋友,陌生人,敌人-的爱都被稳定和普遍化,并且在任何情况下都可以持久。” 这种情绪上的稳定是一种非常精神和情感的环境,即使在最艰难的情况下,我们也可以自由地真正认识并体验神的“配合”。

參考資料
  1. 萨里·肯普顿(2011)。 为爱而冥想。 科罗拉多州博尔德:Sounds True,Inc.,第112-113页。
  2. 肯普顿 p.页。 113. XNUMX。
  3. 肯普顿 p.113。
  4. 肯普顿 第 114-118。
  5. 肯普顿 第 115-116。
  6. 肯普顿 第 115-116。
  7. Feuerstein,Brenda(2011)。 女人视角的瑜伽经。 传统瑜伽研究电子书,第5页。 XNUMX.(本文引用的两本Feuerstein电子书目前都没有精装本或平装本)。
  8. BKS艾扬格(1979年版)。 轻瑜伽。 纽约,纽约:肖肯图书出版社,第31页。 XNUMX。
  9. 科比,埃德温·F(Edwin F.)博士(2009)。 帕坦伽利(Patanjali)的《瑜伽经》。 纽约,纽约:北角出版社,第243页。 XNUMX。
  10. 艾扬格 生命之光, p. ,P。 32. XNUMX。 
  11. 布赖恩特243。
  12. 弗雷德里克森(Fredrickson),芭芭拉(Barbara)博士(2014年版)。 爱2.0。 纽约,纽约:企鹅集团(美国)有限责任公司,第17页。 XNUMX。
  13. Dorigan,William E.(2019年)。 健康手册–使用瑜伽丰富您的生活。 佛蒙特州Middlesex:LuHen Publications,LLC,第25-49页(详细介绍了Fredrickson博士,Martin Seligman博士,Daniel Goleman博士讨论的积极情绪和积极共鸣理论)。
  14. 我指的是 佛教传授的四个梵天。 梵天经被翻译为“神圣的信徒”,“梵天站”,有时被称为爱的四个面孔。
  15. 布赖恩特128。
  16. “对那些没有品德的人的宽容。” 布赖恩特128(评论瑜伽经1.33)。
  17. 布鲁克斯(Douglas R.)博士(2020年19月XNUMX日)。 “更多的参与。” 拉贾纳卡·阿德萨(Rajanaka Adesa). http://rajanakadesa.blogspot.com/2020/11/a-more-engaged-equanimity.html.  Brooks博士将samata一词称为参与的镇定感,来自于in “博伽梵歌”,II.48:“ samatvam瑜伽果胶” –“瑜伽是安定的。  布鲁克斯,道格拉斯河博士(2019)。 翻译中的《博伽梵歌》(入门版)。 纽约州布里斯托尔:Srividyalaya出版物,第120-121页。
  18. Feuerstein,Georg博士(1989年版)。 帕坦加利的瑜伽经。 佛蒙特州罗切斯特:国际传统学会,第48页。 XNUMX。
  19. Feuerstein,Georg博士(2011年版)。 瑜伽经非二元论的解释。 传统瑜伽研究电子书,第50页。 XNUMX.(本文引用的两本Feuerstein电子书目前都没有精装本或平装本)。
  20. 艾扬格 轻瑜伽,p。 27. 
  21. BKS艾扬格(2002年版)。 点燃帕坦加利的瑜伽经。 伦敦,英文:Thorsons,p。 86)。
  22. 布赖恩特130。
  23. 科比 第 129-130。
  24. 卡雷拉,贾加纳斯牧师(2015)。 内经 (2015年版)。 白金汉。 弗吉尼亚州:整体瑜伽出版物,p。 83。
  25. Roh的Mehta(2011年版)。 瑜伽,融合的艺术。” 惠顿,伊利诺伊州:Theosophical出版社,第59-60页。 
  26. 拉维德拉·拉维(2015年版)。 帕坦伽利瑜伽经的智慧。 加拿大新斯科舍省的弗格森斯湾(Fergusons's Cove):Shaila Press,第35页。 XNUMX岁
  27. Ravindra,第35-36页。
  28. 拉文德拉 p.页。 36. XNUMX。
  29. 拉文德拉 p.页。 36. XNUMX。
  30. Stoler Miller,Barbara博士(1998年版)。 瑜伽自由纪律。 纽约,纽约:矮脚鸡书籍,第38-39页。
  31. 39。

标签: , , , , , ,

Login

Equanimity – The Practice of Upeksa for Aligning with the Divine

By Bill Dorigan

Subject Matter Specialist

http://www.findingthemidline.com

 

 

This article explores the meaning and practice of equanimity, a common translation for the word “upeksa” in Patanjali’s Yoga Sutra 1.33. The purpose of this exploration is to assist yoga teachers and practitioners in more effectively aligning with the Divine, experiencing a richer life, and more profoundly benefiting society. 

The highest intention of practicing Anusara yoga is to align with the Divine. What does that mean? Sally Kempton offered a very helpful explanation, defining the Divine this way: an “ultimate Reality as one great divine Consciousness, with two inseparable aspects that are called Shiva and Shakti.” She described Shiva as the “ultimate divine intelligence” and “supreme Awareness,” and Shakti as the “intrinsic creative power” that manifests the entire material world, including each and every one of us, through her “divine creative energy.” 

Referencing the Kashmir Shaivite philosophical system, Ms. Kempton explained how this Shaiva system of radical non-dualism recognizes this Supreme Consciousness “in the earth, and in every substantial and insubstantial thing … within all domains of experience.” Shaivites look for the divine in everything, not only in the sensory pleasures such as dance, art, music, and drama, but also in the “flawed humanness” of anger, fear, and depression, and the behaviors springing from all the “darker emotions.” Referring to Kshemaraja’s tenth-century text the Pratyabhijna Hridayam (The Heart of Recognition), Ms. Kempton emphasized that each of us are also living expressions of Supreme Consciousness in our individual, limited human bodies. We each live with an illusion of separation from Supreme Consciousness and, thus, from each other. In our human form we’ve forgotten our true nature as the Divine. We’ve lost sight of the idea that every human being shares this same true nature. 

Aligning with the Divine, then, involves remembering this idea of oneness. It requires we develop the habit of looking first for the divine presence not only in ourselves but also in others, no matter what off-putting or offensive behavior might be present. Distasteful attitudes and behaviors, including racism, sexism, breaches of the law, lying, cheating, and even political ideals we find abhorrent, are each manifestations of Supreme Consciousness. Supreme Consciousness, the Divine, lives in the world through the full range of the human experience, – the happy, the sad, the angry and the loving, the mean and the kind, the shadows and the light.

To fully experience the Divine requires that we learn as much as we can about the full range of human experience. When appropriate for our particular situation, we learn by engaging with others, including specifically those with whom we are uncomfortable. As I discuss below, each such encounter allows us an opportunity to reexamine our own way of thinking and behaving, our own shadows. Maybe we’ll learn something. As Brenda Feuerstein wrote, “[w]e often learn the most from the things that contrast sharply with our own viewpoint.” To maximize our capacity for aligning with the Divine, we must learn to practice expansive engagement with the world.   

Learning to view the world this way, with an intention of expansive engagement, requires a dramatic shift in attitude for many of us. Yoga teaches us how to accomplish this shift. As I emphasized in my October 2020 Samudra Shakti Online presentation, the core practice of Patanjali’s eight-limbed path of yoga, ahimsa (Yoga Sutra II.35), involves far more than avoiding harm to another – the most common definition we hear in classes. It means love. Ahimsa requires that we learn to embrace “all creation for we are all children of …. the Lord.” The commentator Vyasa wrote that “the goal of the other yamas is to achieve ahimsa and enhance it.” Therefore, the love intended by this sutra, and in fact the entire eight limbed path of Patanjali’s yoga, is meant to be expansive, ever outreaching. Mr. Iyengar elaborated, that when practicing ahimsa a yogi “knows that his life is linked inextricably with that of others and he rejoices if he can help them to be happy,” showing those who have wronged him “by his love and compassion how to improve themselves.”

This is a very critical point. The practice of yoga, the journey towards abiding in our own true nature (Yoga Sutra I.3), aligning with the Divine, necessitates learning how to expand our capacity to love everyone, not just those who look like us and think like us. This is the attitude shift we must strive to achieve. Dr. Edwin Bryant suggested that a person’s yogic accomplishments will remain limited until her or she internalizes ahimsa, as well as the other yamas, and put them “into practice.” Certainly this is the case if we wish to maximize our opportunities to connect with the Divine. Until we learn to view each person, regardless of their “missteps,” from an attitude of love, we will experience inner turmoil that blinds us to the concept that the other person, the one who so offends us, is also a living, breathing manifestation of Supreme Consciousness. A loving attitude clears away the mental, judgmental chatter that causes our blindness and ignorance, our failure to recognize our shared common divinity. A loving attitude creates an environment from which the Divine can more readily be experienced. 

Asking us to love others, including those who may have done us great harm, and perhaps continue to do so, seems a bit much, doesn’t it? Just ask Gandhi. Viewing everyone with love perhaps seems a bit “kumbaya” – an often-disparaging term applied to efforts to bring opponents into some semblance of harmony. But that is in fact what yoga is asking us to do. To make this commitment to maintaining a loving mind more plausible, we can think of “love” in the same way certain modern behavioral psychologists view the term. They don’t use the word “love” as we might commonly consider romantic attachment, or the warm emotions we feel with family members, or even pets, we care so much about. Rather, they consider love to be those moments of positive connection between two people, even strangers. It is this heart connection, however fleeting, that allows us to taste and experience the Divine in that other person. It is this moment of connection that can cause us to turn towards them and briefly remove the emotional barriers that hides from us our common divine connection. (For a variety of reasons there are times when the healthiest and safest choice is to turn away instead of towards). 

Examples of this “positivity resonance” as Dr. Barbara Fredrickson referred to these moments, include divorced spouses finding a brief but significant common heart connection at their child’s wedding, or a shared moment of pride when that child graduates from school. Such love includes a mutual feeling of awe among strangers when experiencing an impressive event. It includes a common hope many of us feel when a political election yields a certain result. It refers to spontaneous shared joy among thousands of strangers in a stadium watching a last minute come-from-behind victory by their home team. Other emotions such as gratitude, serenity, curiosity, humor, and inspiration, by way of example, can result in the shared experience of positivity resonance, experiences of love. 

Patanjali understood the human tendency to allow our mental constructs to blind us to our ultimate objective of abiding in our own true nature, including those cases in which we are confronted with those whose values and behavior offend us. As a result, he shared with us existing Buddhist practices contained in Yoga Sutra 1.33. That sutra provides: “By cultivating an attitude of friendship toward those who are happy, compassion toward those in distress, joy toward those who are virtuous, and equanimity toward those who are nonvirtuous, lucidity arises in the mind.” Equanimity, upeksa, is a practice that teaches us how to more expansively view others with whom we disagree in terms of values and behavior. 

What does equanimity mean? Some commentaries translate the word to mean “indifference.” Perhaps for this reason, I sometimes hear teachers and students suggest that the term upeksa means that we simply turn away from those with whom we disagree. We are told to “keep our temper but disengage,” “just turn your back and walk away; ignore them.” Such advice might sit well with our human nature, the part of us that doesn’t want to do the hard work of turning towards the person who offends us. It may even superficially seem like the proper response in order to retain our calm, “yogic” mind, our perceived state of inner peace. 

However, turning away from such people prevents the very Divine connection we seek. Turning our back or ignoring someone is inconsistent with ahimsa and the yogic duty to enhance love.  How will disengaging from or ignoring them help us find the divine imprint in that person? How, as Brenda Feuerstein pointed out, do we learn from that person’s drastically different world view, and transform ourselves, if we don’t engage with them? And, in terms of advancing wellbeing in our society, how will turning away help them consider our values and behaviors as a more beneficial way for them to engage in the world? Supreme Consciousness lives in such people, concealed from us, and can only be revealed by engagement with them, not by turning away. 

Fortunately, scholars and various commentaries on the Yoga Sutras, suggest a contrary approach – an approach that interprets upeksa as a practice of mindful and empathetic engagement with the “nonnvirtuous.” Dr. Douglas Brooks recently discussed this point within the context of the political divisiveness in the U.S. He described equanimity as a mindful and empathetic engagement, suggesting we practice “turning towards” others (samata), an “engaged equanimity,” as he calls it. He submitted that we respond to those with whom we adamantly disagree in a “measured and appropriate” manner. He urged us to never disengage, but, instead, “address our feelings, thoughts, and actions in ways appropriate to viable outcomes.” He warned that when we turn away from our thoughts and feelings, we “lose equanimity.” Such disengagement causes us to lose the opportunity to reflect and then turn that reflection into “construction action.” 

Consider Dr. Georg Feuerstein’s commentary in which he, like Dr. Brooks, urged a mindful and empathetic engagement of those with whom we disagree: 

The term upeksa requires a brief comment. It does not stand for mere ‘indifference’, as I.K. Taimni and many other translators would have it, but is denotative of a more subtle and positive attitude, namely a dispassionate but nonetheless empathetic witnessing of mandate events. 

In a later commentary in which he adopted a non-dualist view of the Yoga Sutras for purposes of the commentary, Dr. Feuerstein referred to equanimity as a “quiet acceptance” that “affirms the unity of all beings.” 

This engagement with empathy and introspection is consistent with the view of other commentators on the Yoga Sutras. For example, while himself translating the word upeksa as meaning indifference or apathy, Mr. Iyengar explained in Light on Yoga that upeksa is:

[A] searching self-examination to find out how one would have behaved when faced with the same temptations. It is also an examination to see how far one is responsible for the state into which the unfortunate one has fallen and the attempt thereafter to put him on the right path. The yogi understands the faults of others by seeing and studying them first in himself. This self-study teaches him to be charitable to all. 

Like Drs. Brooks and Feuerstein, Mr. Iyengar asked us to try to put ourselves in the other person’s shoes and then make an effort to engage (attempts “to put him on the right path”) that is based in our own self-study and Dr. Georg Feuerstein’s “empathetic witnessing.” 

Mr. Iyengar elaborated on these points in his commentary to the sutra itself, pointing out that practicing equanimity as empathetic engagement, coupled with self-study, creates a “mental adjustment” that can benefit “the well-being of society as a whole.” Dr. Edwin Bryant concurred, noting that upeksa (and the other three attitudes identified in this sutra – friendship, compassion, and joy) “prescribes a kind of mindfulness or mental cultivation off the mat.” Dr. Bryant wrote that practicing these attitudes, including removing intolerance towards those with whom we are in disagreement, is “perfectly compatible with engaged and benevolent social action in the world.” 

How does practicing upeksa as empathetic engagement with self-awareness expand well-being in the world?  In his commentary on Yoga Sutra 1.33, Reverend Jaganath Carrera wrote that the ideal motivation for effecting a shift of viewpoint in another lies in a “mind possessed of equanimity” that is full of compassion, understanding, and a desire to create harmony. 

Another commentator, Rohit Mehta, expanded on the value of putting another at ease, even when that person has behaved in a way discordant to our value system. He wrote: 

Upeksa is not indifference. To show a real regard and consideration for those who may have failed or may have fallen – this is the meaning of upeksa. Usually we overlook our failings, many of them; but we are unable to overlook even a slight failing of the other. To make the person who has failed feel quite at ease in our company is a great spiritual value. 

Practicing upeksa, equanimity, as empathetic engagement with self-awareness is an important practice for those involved with social action movements. Ravi Ravindra wrote that “the practice of yoga is meant to lead to more and more sensitivity to all our surroundings and relationships, and to develop an increasing understanding and compassion.” He wrote that upeksa is: 

“[M]uch closer to impartiality than to indifference. When we are impartial, we do not take events personally, that is, we do not just take our own interests and ideas into account. To see more and more impartially is to take more and more into account.” 

He suggested that we try to consider the other person’s behavior by understanding their situation and background and appreciate that they need our “sympathy and goodwill. He concluded that we often become so occupied with ourselves and our preferences that we “do not see others “as autonomous persons who have hopes, wishes, fears, and a depth within.” In short, we lose sight of the idea that the “other person” is every bit a manifestation of Supreme Consciousness as are we. 

In conclusion, yoga, asks us to make a dramatic shift in our attitudes towards those with whom we disagree, including those whose words and deeds we find highly offensive. We need to cultivate an internal mental and emotional environment conducive to connecting, or aligning, with the Divine in all Its forms. Until we undergo a “radical change” in our perceived relationship with people by demolishing “the boundaries between oneself and others,” we will never fully experience our divine nature. Dr. Miller advised that when we practice upeksa, “impartiality toward all living beings – oneself, friends, strangers, enemies – the emotions of love, compassion, and joy are stabilized and universalized, enduring under any circumstances.” This emotional stabilization is the very mental and emotional environment that frees us to truly recognize and experience -“align with”- the Divine in even the most trying of circumstances.

References
  1. Kempton, Sally (2011). Meditation for the Love of It. Boulder, CO: Sounds True, Inc., pp. 112-113.
  2. Kempton, p. 113.
  3. Kempton, p.113.
  4. Kempton, pp. 114-118.
  5. Kempton, pp. 115-116.
  6. Kempton, pp. 115-116.
  7. Feuerstein, Brenda (2011). The Yoga-Sutra From a Woman’s Perspective. Traditional Yoga Studies E-books, p. 5. (Neither of the two Feuerstein E-books referenced in this article are currently available in hardbound or paperback).
  8. Iyengar, B.K.S. (1979 ed). Light on Yoga. New York, NY: Schocken Books, p. 31.
  9. Bryant, Dr. Edwin F. (2009). The Yoga Sutras of Patanjali. New York, NY: North Point Press, p. 243.
  10. Iyengar, Light on Life, p. 32. 
  11. Bryant, p. 243.
  12. Fredrickson, Dr. Barbara (2014 ed). Love 2.0. New York, NY: Penguin Group (USA), LLC, p. 17.
  13. Dorigan, William E. (2019). A Manual for Wellbeing – Using Yoga to Enrich Your Life. Middlesex, VT: LuHen Publications, LLC, pp. 25-49 (detailing theories of positive emotions and positivity resonance discussed by Drs. Fredrickson, Martin Seligman, Daniel Goleman, and others).
  14. I refer to the four brahma-viharas taught in Buddhism. Brahma-viharas has been translated to mean “divine abidings,” the “stations of Brahma,” and are sometimes referred to as the four faces of love.
  15. Bryant, p. 128.
  16. “[E]quanimity toward those who are nonvirtuous.” Bryant, p. 128 (commenting on Yoga Sutra 1.33).
  17. Brooks, Dr. Douglas R. (2020, November 19). “A More Engaged Equanimity.” Rajanaka Adesa. http://rajanakadesa.blogspot.com/2020/11/a-more-engaged-equanimity.html.  Dr. Brooks reference to the word samata as an engaged equanimity comes from the use of the word in The Bhagavad Gita, II.48: “samatvam yoga ucyate” – “yoga is equanimity.  Brooks, Dr. Douglas R. (2019). The Bhagavad Gita in Translation with Introduction Student Edition. Bristol, NY: Srividyalaya Publications, pp. 120-121.
  18. Feuerstein, Dr. Georg (1989 ed). The Yoga Sutra of Patanjali. Rochester, VT: Inner Traditions International, p. 48.
  19. Feuerstein, Dr. Georg (2011 ed). The Yoga-Sutra Nondualist Interpretation. Traditional Yoga Studies E-books, p. 50. (Neither of the two Feuerstein E-books referenced in this article are currently available in hardbound or paperback).
  20. Iyengar, Light on Yoga, p. 27. 
  21. Iyengar, B.K.S. (2002 ed). Light on the Yoga Sutras of Patanjali. London, Eng: Thorsons, p. 86).
  22. Bryant, p. 130.
  23. Bryant, pp. 129-130.
  24. Carrera, Rev. Jaganath (2015). Inside the Yoga Sutras (2015 ed). Buckingham. VA: Integral Yoga Publications, p. 83.
  25. Mehta, Rohit (2011 ed). Yoga, The Art of Integration.” Wheaton, ILL: The Theosophical Publishing House, pp. 59-60. 
  26. Ravindra, Ravi (2015 ed). The Wisdom of Patanjali’s Yoga Sutras. Fergusons’s Cove, Nova Scotia, Canada: Shaila Press, p. 35.
  27. Ravindra, pp. 35-36.
  28. Ravindra, p. 36.
  29. Ravindra, p. 36.
  30. Stoler Miller, Dr. Barbara (1998 ed). Yoga Discipline of Freedom. New York, NY: Bantam Books, pp. 38-39.
  31. Miller, p. 39.

Tags: , , , , , ,